Wednesday, October 4, 2023
HomeEntertainment and GossipLiberia Assumes OACPS Committee of Ambassadors and Council of Ministers Leadership

Liberia Assumes OACPS Committee of Ambassadors and Council of Ministers Leadership

Liberia Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to Benelux, European Union, ACP, ICC and OPCW Isaac W. Nyenabo II, has taken over the chairmanship of the Committee of Ambassadors (CoA) of the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (OACPS) for the next six months, until January 2024. 

According to a dispatched, Amb. NYENABO II succeeds the outgoing Chairman, His Excellency Mr Sutiawan Gunessee, Ambassador of the Republic of Mauritius, following the handover meeting held on 1 September 2023.

Liberia’s presidency, will focus on the following priority areas: the signing of the new OACPS-EU Agreement (Samoa Agreement), COP 28, the diversification of partnerships, the mobilisation of resources, , and the completion of the reform and restructuring of the OACPS.

The achievements of the outgoing Bureau, under the leadership of His Excellency Mr Sutiawan Gunessee, were widely praised at the meeting, in particular the considerable efforts made to defend the interests of OACPS, notably in resolving the difficulties associated with the signing of the Samoa Agreement.

Current Bureau

For the period of 1st August 2023 to 31 January 2024, the incoming Bureau, under the leadership of Liberia comprises: West Africa – Ambassador Samuel Tamba MUSA of Sierra Leone; East Africa – Ambassador Aden Mohamed DILEITA of Djibouti; Central Africa- Ambassador Christian NDONGALA NKUKU of the Democratic Republic of Congo; Southern Africa – Ambassador Ammon MUTEMBWA of Zimbabwe; The Caribbean – Ambassador Gilbert A. van LIEROP of Suriname; and the Pacific – Ambassador Jorge Trindade Neves de CAMÕES of Timor Leste.

The Bureau of the Committee of Ambassadors, which coordinates the work of the full committee, comprises one representative from each of the six regions of the OACPS, as well as a Troika comprised of the current, outgoing, and incoming Chairs.

The current Troika includes the Ambassadors of Liberia, The Republic of Mauritius, and the representative of the Caribbean region, which will be next to hold the presidency.

Source link


Most Popular

Recent Comments