Carr drives new-look Bulls in Cardiff duel

Springbok loose forward Nizaam Carr will captain the Vodacom Bulls as one of 12 personnel changes against Cardiff in Wales on Friday night.

Carr is joined in an overhauled loose trio with blindside flanker Cyle Brink and No 8 Mpilo Gumede for the Vodacom URC clash at Arms Park. Marcell Coetzee is dropped from the matchday 23, with co-captain Ruan Nortje named among the replacements.

Chris Smith and Embrose Papier will form a new halfback partnership, with Reinhardt Ludwig promoted to the run-on side and partners Jank Swanepoel in the second row.

ALSO: Bulls star on Wales’ radar?

Gerhard Steenekamp, Elrigh Louw, Keagan Johannes, Johan Goosen and Cameron Hanekom are set to make an impact off the bench.

The Bulls climbed three places to third on the URC table with a 54-29 bonus-point victory against Zebre Parma in round 3, and Jake White’s will be confident about building on the win against a Cardiff side coming off a 31-24 defeat at Scarlets.

Bulls – 15 Devon Williams, 14 Sebastian de Klerk, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 David Kriel, 11 Sergeal Petersen, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Mpilo Gumede, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Nizaam Carr (c), 5 Janko Swanepoel, 4 Reinhardt Ludwig, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Akker van der Merwe, 1 Simphiwe Matanzima.
Subs: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Gerhard Steenekamp, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Ruan Nortje, 20 Elrigh Louw, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Johan Goosen, 23 Cameron Hanekom.

Photo: Luca Sighinolfi/Inpho/Shutterstock

Source link